Carob and Coffee Pancakes

I have a secret.. and it means I may have to change the name of my blog. I think I’ve found something I prefer to chocolate.. carob! When I was experimenting with raw food I had a bad experience with carob. I ordered some off of a popular auction website… and well, what I got was very strange. It smelt like pet shops. And it was very bitty. I thought I had bought carob flour. But I think I actually bought pet food. I made these carob ‘brownies’ made up of raisins and coconut and carob flour and they looked AMAZING. But they tasted like a pet shop. I really tried to like it, I added it to smoothies but it just had this odd, grainy texture and pet shop aftertaste that I could not enjoy.
At the weekend my mum and I went to a health food shop and I saw a box of carob powder, so I bought it and hoped maybe I just got a dodgy batch last time.

And I obviously did. Because this box of flour was just like cocoa powder. It smelt like the carob bars I have been devouring, not like pet shops. So I did what all good ladies do on a Sunday, I made pancakes.FRIGGIN, CAROB AND COFFEE PANCAKES. AND THEY TASTED GOOD.

Carob and Coffee Pancakes

carob and coffee pancakes

Ingredients
1 serving

2 tbsp spelt flour (any wholemeal flour of your choice)
1 tbsp flax (optional – add 1 more tbsp of flour if you take the flax out)
1 tbsp carob flour
1 tsp baking powder
dash of salt
1 tsp instant coffee
1 tsp sugar/splenda
1 egg white
1/2 cup almond milk/milk of your choice

Whisk together all ingredients, and let the mixture stand for a few minutes. Meanwhile, heat a non stick frying pan over a medium heat and add a small drizzle of olive oil, or cooking spray. When the pan is hot, add in approx 2 tbsp of the mixture. When the top begins to bubble, flip pancake and cook for another 1 – 2 minutes.

carob coffee pancakes
Top with your favourite toppings, I had crushed strawberries that I picked from the garden

no fat carob coffee pancakes I have eaten carob every day so far this week, and abandoned the cocoa. What is going on?

Have you ever tried carob? Share your favourite recipes and favourite ways to eat it! I made some delicious muffins this weekend!

 

One response to “Carob and Coffee Pancakes

  1. sounds like my kind of pancakes!

Leave a comment