No Fat Banana Muffins

This week has been stressful. It has rained every day. I heard some bad news. And I haven’t exercised at all. Aside from a few miles walking, and a bike ride, that is about it. I’ve been going to bed past midnight too which makes me even more of a grump. If I don’t get to sleep before 11am I turn into the hulk. So on Saturday, when I woke up to sunshine I was super chuffed. I spent the morning with my mum, Pete and I took Ralph for a nice long walk into town, then I spent the afternoon in the kitchen baking up some treats for the week. Starting with my new favourite thing in the world. Banana muffins. They are low in calories, high in fibre and low in fat and sugar. They are dense and squishy and doughy and delicious. Yum. I’ve been chomping on these bad boys for the last two weeks.

low fat banana muffins

Makes 9 muffins
You will need:
1 cup rye flour (or other wholemeal flour)
1/2 cup of ground flax
1 & 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp cinnamon
pinch of salt
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 egg whites
2 mashed bananas
1/4 cup sugar/splenda
1 tbsp chia seeds (optional)
1 cup of almond milk

Directions:
low fat banana muffins
Combine your dry ingredients (flour, baking powder & soda, flax, sugar and salt)

low fat banana muffins recipe
Mash the shit out of your bananas! I don’t know about you, but I could eat mashed bananas all day long. The best narnas to use are the ones that are starting to go black, they are sweeter and more mashable.

low fat banana muffin recipe
Mix your banana, egg whites, cinnamon and chia seeds. Hello sneaky sock.

no fat banana muffin recipe
Add the wet ingredients to dry, I usually add in one half, then add the second half. This is too dry, so add in some almond milk.

low fat banana muffin recipe
That’s better! You want it to be sloppy enough to drop off the spoon. I added the almond milk 1/4 cup at a time, and used about 1 cup.

low fat banana muffin recipe
Add to a lined muffin tin, then top with chia seeds if you wish. I like to add a little extra nutritional boost! Then bake in a preheated oven at 175c for about 15 mins. Or until the tops are nicely browned.

low fat no fat bananachia seed muffins
These are pretty dense muffins  and filling muffins. I’ve been eating 2 for a quick breakfast some mornings, or one muffin with 1/4 cup of oatmeal.
They also freeze really well, just take one or two out the night before, and they’ll be perfect in the morning. Oh they are also amazing topped with some chocolate PB2.

What are your favourite grab and go breakfasts? I always used to make overnight oats but I am loving the convenience of muffins lately.

Leave a comment