WIAW

This weeks Wednesday eats are a little sad looking. After this weekends shenanigans I’ve lost my organised mojo and my meals look a little sad because of it.

Breakfast was a banana chia seed muffin, crumbled onto ¼ cup oats. All topped with 1 tbsp chocolate PB2. This was friggin delish. I made the perfect no fat banana muffin on Friday!banana bread muffin oats
AM snack was a cup of greek yogurt and an amazing pear. Perfectly ripe and juicy – question, how does one eat a pear without getting juice everywhere?  I thought about bringing a knife with me to work to chop it up but.. well, I don’t know. I don’t feel comfortable branding a knife at my desk haha.
pear greek yogurt

Lunch was a tuna salad, with chopped tommys, carrots and onion. With some red pepper strips and caramelised onion hummus, and a baby bel.
tuna salad

PM snack was an apple and a cup of strong coffee. I spent most of the day tackling spreadsheets and I needed this!
coffee and apple

Dinner was a tasty surprise, I had planned on just having some eggs and spinach, but I went to see my mum and she had bought me an edamame salad. The dressing with it was divine! Garlic, ginger, chilli and soy sauce. And it went perfectly with my omelet (1 whole egg, 3 egg white).
edamame salad, omelet

Then for dessert I had a slice of cake. This is my treat/cheat for the week. I was going to save my treat for the weekend, but my brother came round with some of the cake I made for my sister in laws birthday, so I had to try a slice of my handywork.

This WIAW has come at a perfect time for me as lately I have had a serious snacking problem. Particularly at weekends, I seem to go into a crazy eyed trance where I stuff my face and laugh when I realise what I’ve done ‘BUT IT’S THE WEEKEND HAAAHSAHDHJFHDS WHO CARES, I EAT GOOD ALL WEEK’ but really, the weekend is half of the week (I go into weekend mode on Fridays) so weekends account for HALF OF MY LIFE. So in theory, I only eat well half of the time! How have I only suddenly realised this? My meals are always well balanced and nutritious; it’s mostly my evening snacks.
My problem is I absolutely adore food. I am always thinking about food, and about tasty combinations and recipes I could try. And I just can’t stop myself. Like the time I made black bean brownies. I am not even going to continue, but those bad boys did not last long at all.

So, this month I am on a goal making, healthy snack eating, keep-myself-in-check-at-weekends mission. Looking forward to checking out the other WIAWers snacks for some ideas!
I’m going to write down everything that passes my chops for the next few weeks to try and keep myself accountable.

Foodies, how do you stop yourself from over indulging too often? One thing I’ve been doing when making banana bread is chopping it into individual servings and then freezing them so I’m not tempted to eat a whole batch.

3 responses to “WIAW

  1. I stop over indulging by rarely starting. It’s too hard to stop once you start and moderation is more difficult to me than not having it at all. KWIM?

    Your breakfast looks amazing! Several of my favorite things in one bowl :)

    [Fitness, Health and Happiness]

  2. I feel ya! My eating goes to sh*t the second there is temptation. During the workweek I do a decent job of eating well but come Friday night, its all over… grrr … its so frustrating sometimes.
    Those no fat banana muffins look incredible! Do you have the recipe?

Leave a Reply

