Black Forest Gateau Oats

I am back from our camping adventure feeling more tired than before we left! We didn’t stay long because it rained on us, but it was nice to get away together and spend some quality time without distractions.

BankĀ  holiday weekend rain!

The long weekend has been full of beer, which has led to a lot of unhealthy food choices! One being a massive scone with jam, cream and butter at 11pm last night. A scone that was covered in mold, which I desperately scraped off. Apparently after a few too many beers I will eat anything! So this morning I was determined to have a tasty, but healthy breakfast. After overindulging in unhealthy food I always find it hard to go back to plainer, less sugary foods and I need to wean myself off of it. So I made some dessert inspired oats.

Black Forest Gateau Oats

Ingredients
1/2 cup oats
2 tbsp cocoa powder
1/2 cup water + more when cooking
dash of salt
2 tsp truvia/sweetener of choice
1/4 cup of frozen black forest fruits (cherries, blackberries, blueberries, red grapes)
1/4 cup greek yogurt (optional)
sprinkle chia seeds (optional)

Mix your dry ingredients in a saucepan until well combined. Then add the water and heat on the stove at a low temperature. When the oats have nearly cooked (this will depend on the type of oats you use, I used quick cook oats so this only took 2-3 minutes) add in your fruit – leave some spare to top your oats (heat these in microwave for 30 – 50 secs). Then assemble your oats!

I added some greek yogurt, then topped with the rest of the warm fruit, drizzled the fruit juices over, then topped with chia seeds. It tastes just like black forest gateau!

For the rest of the day I am going to list a majority of my belongings on eBay, make something magical with a butternut squash, and rest my legs because I am walking like I’ve pooped myself after the long bike ride we had yesterday.

Am I the only one who finds cats super relaxing on rainy days?

2 responses to “Black Forest Gateau Oats

  1. This sounds like an indulgent way to enjoy oats…excellent!

Leave a Reply

